Skip to Content

Family Caravans | Caravans with permanent bunk beds

Looking for a caravan with bunk beds for the whole family?

This  post is for the families out there, who’s number one requirement when shopping for a caravan is that they can only consider a caravan with bunk beds.

I would have thought that would be quite a simple requirement, and I also assumed that there wouldn’t be all that many options. 

Wrong!

There are over 25 caravan manufacturers in Australia (listed further below) that make caravans with bunks, and between them, there are almost 200 different models!

Admittedly though, many of the layouts and features seem to be the same; I mean, there’s only so many different ways you can organise a bed, kitchen, bathroom, dining and bunks in a 15m2 space.

All the bunk models on a spreadsheet

If you just want to see all 180 different models, I’m selling a spreadsheet where I’ve painstakingly gone through every manufacturers website and listed every model of theirs that has bunks.

I’ve included the Make, Model, Length, Number of people it sleeps (in permanent beds), Configuration of the bunks, Base Price (where listed) and other notes like whether it’s off road or doesn’t include a bathroom.

In the spreadsheet I’ve only included caravans with permanent bunks – not dinettes that convert into bunks, or bunks that need to be folded down.

Don’t forget – you can see all the manufacturers that make bunk models further down in this post. The spreadsheet is just if you want to see all 180 of the models.

Double or triple bunks?

Obviously, whether you opt for double or triple bunks depends on the number of kids you have. Most caravan manufacturers seem to offer either, but sometimes that’s not possible (like in pop-tops, where there isn’t enough height for triple bunks).

But there are some layouts that have the double bunks plus one more single bed, like the Jayco Journey 17.58-1.JY-MY21 below.

Interior of a Jayco Journey pop top caravan with bunk beds plus a single top bunk.
Jayco Journey 17.58-1.JY-MY21

More than 3 bunks

For the larger families, there are caravans with 2 sets of bunks. Elite Caravans have a couple of layouts:

The Hume Series 4 - 4 Bunk caravan showing 2 sets of double bunks.
The Hume Series 4 – 4 Bunk with 2 sets of double bunks.
Hume 2200 FV 8-10 Sleeper Caravan floor plan.
And the Hume 2200 FV 8-10 Sleeper which has 2 sets of either double or triple bunks.

The Expanda type of caravans are also good for sleeping lots of people. You can have bunks but also a double bed at each end, like the Jayco Expanda 20.64-1.OB.EX-MY21

Double bunks inside the Jayco Expanda 20.64-1.OB.EX-MY21.
Floor plan of the Jayco Expanda 20.64-1.OB.EX-MY21.

Another option that you may want to consider (but which I haven’t included here since they’re not permanent beds) is toy hauler caravans. They often have bunks in the garage area that can be folded down when needed for sleeping and folded up when the area is being used for hauling the toys.

Cost for a caravan with bunks beds

You can buy a new caravan with bunks for around $60-70k. But the price range is pretty wide with some from as little as $38,990 for the Jayco Journey pop top, right up to $197,900 for the Zone RV Summit Family.

Manufacturers

Below are all the Australian caravan manufacturers (that I could find!) that have bunk models in their current range.

You certainly don’t need to buy the spreadsheet (although, not gonna lie, I’d love it if you did!) you could just go to each of these websites and have a look through their full range.

Avan https://www.avan.com.au/

Concept Caravans https://conceptcaravans.com.au/

Coromal https://www.coromal.com.au

Crusader Caravans https://crusadercaravans.com.au/

Eden Caravans https://www.edencaravans.com/

Evernew Caravans https://www.evernewcaravans.com.au/

Fantasy Caravan https://fantasycaravan.com.au/

Goldstar RV https://www.goldstarrv.com.au

Golf https://www.golfcaravans.com.au/caravans/

Jayco https://www.jayco.com.au/

JB Caravans https://www.jbcaravans.com.au/

Kokoda Caravans https://www.kokodacaravans.com.au/

Leader Caravans https://www.leadercaravans.com.au

Lotus Caravans https://www.lotuscaravans.com.au/

Mountain Trail RV https://mountaintrailrv.com.au/

New Age Caravans https://newagecaravans.com.au/

Nova Caravans https://novacaravans.com.au/caravans/family-escape/

Paramount Caravans https://www.paramountcaravans.com.au/

Retreat Caravans https://www.retreatcaravans.com.au/

Royal Flair https://www.royalflair.com.au/

Sunrise Caravans https://www.sunrisecaravans.com.au/

Sunseeker https://www.sunseekercaravans.com.au/

Tango Caravans https://www.tangocaravans.com.au/

Willow RV https://willowrv.com.au/

Windsor https://www.windsorrvs.com.au/

Zone RV https://www.zonerv.com.au/

Don’t forget, you can buy the full spreadsheet for just $4.

Are you as surprised as I am at how many Australian manufacturers produce caravans with permanent bunk beds?

Are there any that I’ve missed?

Interior view of caravan bunk beds with text: Caravans with bunk beds Australia.